October part II: the fourth tetrad

Posted: September 30, 2012 in IdeoKoan 圖像公案, Mindfulness
Tags: , , ,

[music: Cathedral – Cocoon]

October is tomorrow and it is supposed to be my lucky month! But I figure that even luck can use some help; awareness of its presence, openness to the opportunity, and space to follow it.

So, this post is about the fourth tetrad of mindfulness-mediation. After we have calmed the mind and are able to concentrate, we can turn our attention to knowing and release.

This is an excerpt from the entry on Anapanasati Sutta in Wikipedia:

“Contemplation of the Mental Objects (dhammā)
Focusing on impermanence
Focusing on dispassion
Focusing on cessation
Focusing on relinquishment”

Any search on the internet will present you with a much wiser choice of references and interpretations.

Nevertheless, this is my take:

Comments
  1. Hook says:

    I’m officially at sea on this one. I’ve never been good at philosophy and the more spiritual it becomes the more lost I feel. When you tell all the lucky stuff that happens to you this month, tho, that I’m sure I’ll understand.

Leave a Reply

