What’s in a Box?

Posted: June 26, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags:

[music: No Light, No Light – Florence and the Machine]

We all have special boxes filled with ‘stuff’, don’t we.

I’m not speaking of boxes with bank statements, electrical cables, or winter clothes. These are those boxes that we carefully put away somewhere for the purpose of future nostalgia; the things we want to keep with us throughout our lives, but we don’t necessarily want on display. They could be old letters, moments, postcards, children’s teeth, a lock of hair, some old photos, diplomas; things that were important enough for us to say at one point, “I want to hold onto this.”

I have been scouring the house for a lost bicycle pump and have come across 8 boxes: 4 cigar boxes and 4 ‘shoe sized boxes’. Over the next days, I will go through my boxes to see what’s inside of each of them. I’ll post the results in the ‘About Me’ section. The contents are probably not interesting enough for the wider blog audience, but they certainly will say something about me. At the very least they will say something about me in one of my past lives.

Have you had a look of what’s in your boxes lately?

As FATM sings “You can’t choose what stays and what fades away“… regardless of whether you pack them away in those boxes.

Comments
  1. hook says:

    I have boxes, but mostly I have files. I’ve got files on games I was designing and on philosophical musings that seemed important at one time, etc. I’d hate to try to got thru all that stuff.

  2. stefano says:

    I have a couple of boxes like that. I think I can probably list most of the content accurately despite not having opened them for a long time. So maybe you store stuff away to actually keep it in your mind ….

Leave a Reply

